Runestone Electric Association members nominate candidate directors

District meetings of the Runestone Electric Association were held the week of June 14 to nominate candidates for the REA board of directors.

“District meetings are the democratic process in which REA members nominate candidates to the board of directors to represent their district,” said REA CEO Al Haman. “Democratic control of members is one of the seven cooperative principles that we follow. This principle provides a solid foundation for governance and representation of the electrical needs of our members, enabling us to serve our members to the best of our ability.

Nomination results include Barbara Johnson, incumbent, was nominated in District 2 (Effington, Ida, Leaf Mountain, Leaf Valley and Millerville townships). Mike Loken, incumbent, has been appointed to District 5 (La Grand and Alexandria Townships).

Members can also be nominated by petition (15 member signatures are required on the petition) for a period of 15 days following the district meeting. Qualified candidates are then entered on the ballot for that district.

The results of the principal’s election will be announced at the REA’s annual meeting on August 19 at the Performing Arts Center at Alexandria Area High School. Documents for the annual meeting will be mailed to REA members in mid-July. Contact REA at (800) 473-1722 or visit for more information.

Runestone Electric Association is a member-owned cooperative that serves over 14,000 accounts in rural areas of Douglas, Pope, Grant, Stevens, Ottertail, Stearns and Todd counties.

Ida M. Morgan